worker loses purchasing power and
the employer loses the worker’s skills.
Lastly, a worker must now prove (in
the majority of States) that he is
“actively seeking work,” which is all
right as a general principle but unfair
and unrealistic in its application in
individual cases.

Administrative problems~—The
States have no reason to be proud of
their postwar record for prompt pay-
ment of claims. In States with bi-
weekly payments only 46 percent of
the first payments during the fiscal
vear 1949 were made within 2 weeks.
Only 35 percent of interstate claims
were paid within 2 weeks.

In the meantime, the cost of ad-
ministration is constantly rising.
States are spending more, relatively
and in dollar amounts, than ever be-
fore. Greater promptness in pay-
ment could be achieved by decentral-
izing claims determination and pay-
ments to local offices. Most States
are tightly centralized in both re-
spects. At present only 28 States
have decentralized the adjudicating
of claims; in four of these States—
California, Michigan, Minnesota, and
Rhode Island—benefits are actually
paid in the local office.

Pay-roll reporting—Quarterly pay-
roll reporting, required now in all but
five States, is a burden on employers

and on State agencies since so few
wage records are ever referred to.
These could easily be obtained on re-
quest when claims are actually flied.
Significant savings in administration
would be effected if quarterly wage re-
porting were to be gbolished by all the
States. .

Financing benefifs.—Unemploy-
ment insurance reserves are adequate
in every State for at least the next 2
years even if present State laws are
liberalized.

Federal taxr rate.—Admittedly the
original 3-percent tax on employers
was too high. Therefore, the law
should allow State-wide rate reduc-
tions if that rate is retained.

There are arguments against 100-
percent Federal grants for State ad-
ministration, among them the fact
that State governments are not so im-
mediately concerned with an agency’s
administrative efficiency if State
funds are not appropriated to help
meet the cost of operations.

Relation to other programs.——Mr.
Altmeyer brought out that unemploy-
ment insurance must be considered in
its relation to temporary and perma-
nent disability insurance, and also to
public assistance and possible work
programs. He said he favered a com-
prehensive contributory social insur-
ance program because he was opposed

to a “hand-out” system of socfal secu-
rity. -

Granis-in-aid.—In advocating a
Federal grants-in-aid system for op-
eration of unemployment insurance,
Mr. Altmeyer read the summary of
a report made in April 1935 by the
Business Advisory Council for the De-
partment of Commerce, which pointed
up some of the advantages of such a
system. The summary of the report
follows:

“It is believed that the grant-in-aid
type of legislation would have advan-
tages: In dealing on a Nation-wide
basis with situations which cross and
transcend State boundaries; in estab-
lishing and maintaining throughout
this country the essential minimum
standards; in removing all obstacles
to bring the reserve funds into Federal
control; in that it would run less risk
of unconstitutionality compared with
the Wagner-Lewis type of legislation
when the latter is equally equipped
with provisions of minimum standards
for the States; in that Federal collec-
tion and Federal control of funds
through the power to allow or disallow
grants, would be an important ele-
ment in national control; and in that
it would lend itself more readily fo
developing a national system should
that become advisable.”

Notes and Brief Reports

Dependents’ Allow-
ances in Unemploy-
ment Insurance

Amendments to six State unem-
ployment insurance laws during 1949
brought to 11 the total number of
States with provisions for dependents’
allowances. The new provisions en-
acted in Alaska, Arizona, Maryland,
North Dakota, and Ohio had all be-
come effective by September; Wyom-
ing’s provision is to be effective Janu-
ary 1, 1950.

Operations, January-March
1949

With six additional States paying
dependents’ allowances, opersting

u

data for the five older systems * of this
type during the first quarter of 1949
might well be examined for the
answers to such pertinent questions
as: How many beneficiaries receive
allowances for dependents? What
type of dependents do they have?
What proportion receive the maxi-
mum payment? How much more do
they receive than other beneficiaries?
How much does it cost?

Of the 217,749 new beneficiaries of
unemployment insurance in these five
States during January-March 1949,
72.3 percent had no dependents on
whose behalf they could draw pay-
ments (table 1}, Only 27.7 percent

1 Connecticut, the District of Columbia,
Massachusetts, Michigan, and Nevada.

drew augmented benefits for depengl-
ents: 11,2 percent for only one
dependent, 8.2 percent for two de-
pendents, 4.5 percent for three, 3.3
percent for four, and 0.4 percent for
five or more dependents.

Of the male beneficiaries, 38.4 per-
cent had dependents and received
dependents’ allowances; for female
beneficiaries, this group represented
only 5.1 percent. Most of the men
who received augmented payments
received them for more than one de-
pendent. Of the women receiving un-
employment insurance benefits, more
than half of the 5.1 percent with aug-
mented payments received them for
one dependent only.

The smallest percentage of bene-
ficiaries having dependents’ allow-
ances was in the District of Columbia
(10 percent), the highest in Michigan
(36 percent). One factor in the large
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number receiving no additional al-
lowances for dependents in the Dis-
trict of Columbia, particularly among
male beneficiaries, is the provision
that the maximum benefit is the same
amount with or without dependents.
The statutory maximum of three de-
pendents accounts for the fact that
the District of Columbia data show
no beneficiaries with four or five or
more dependents during the quarter
(table 1). The same type of provision
held the number of dependents for
which allowances were payable to
three in Nevada, where the ceiling
was later raised to four dependents
during the 1949 legislative session.

In the District of Columbia and
Nevada—the two States that included
as dependents persons other than
children—most of the beneficiaries
entitled to dependents’ allowances re~
ceived allowances in behalf of chil-
dren. One-fourth of the beneficiaries
received allowances for a spouse but
no child. Only 5 percent of the bene-
ficiaries entitled to allowances re-
ceived them because of a dependent
parent or stepparent (table 2).

Beneficiaries with dependents’ al-
lowances accounted for 24 percent of
the total number of weeks of unem-
ployment compensated during Jan-
uary-March 1949 in the five States
with dependents’ allowances (table
3). 'This percentage, slightly lower
than the proportion of new bene-
ficiaries entitled to allowances, does
not indicate any reluctance on the
part of recipients of dependents’ al-
lowances to accept reemployment. In
Connecticut, Massachusetts, and
Michigan, the proportion of all pay-
ments made to claimants with de-
pendents’ allowances was less than
the proportion of all first payments to
claimants with dependents’ allow-
ances.

Except in the District of Columbia,
where no person entitled to the maxi-
mum basic weekly benefit could re-
ceive dependents’ allowances, the
majority of those who received de-
pendents’ allowances were entitled to
the basic maximum. In each of the
four other States, moreover, the aver-
age basic benefit was higher among
recipients of dependents’ allowances
than among those not entitled to the
allowances.

Average weekly benefits for those
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who received the allowances increased
20 percent—from 12 percent in the
District of Columbia to 24 percent in
Connecticut. Since most of the bene-
ficiaries did not receive allowances,
however, the average weekly. benefit
for all beneficiaries was only 5 percent
higher than it would have been had
the allowances not been paid. The
highest percentage increase (7 per-
cent) was in Michigan.

During the first quarter of 1949,
dependents’ allowances in the five
States amounted to $2.3 million, or
4.8 percent of the total amount of

benefits paid. The relative cost was
greatest in Michigan, where the
allowances represented 6.6 percent of
the total benefit outlay during the
quarter.

1949 Legislation

Table 4 summarizes the provisions
in the 11 States that provide for
augmented payments for dependents.
The 1949 legislatures in Massachu-
setts, Michigan, and Nevada made
some changes in their provisions for
dependents’ allowances. Massachu-

Table 1.—Number and percentage distribution of new beneficiaries by num-
ber of dependents and by sex of beneficiary, five States, January-March
1949

[Corrected to Aug. 2, 1949)

Percentage distribution by specified number of dependents
Totl:)ll
number 1 or more
State and sex of benefi-
ciaries | Total | None
Total | 1 2 3 4 | por

Total._.. 217,749 | 100.0 72.3 21.7 11.2 8.2 4.5 3.3 0.4
Connectieut._ _ 34,460 | 100.0 76.7 23.3 10.8 7.4 3.1 2.0 |caeoas
District of Col 5,195 | 100.0 89.9 10,1 5.5 3.1 ) I S U,
Massachusetts, 84,542 | 100.0 78.3 21.7 9.4 6.5 3.3 1.4 11
Michigan 90,400 | 100.0 64. 2 35.8 13.2 10.5 6.2 6.0 oo
Nevada. 3,152 100.0 66.5 33.5 14.7 8.1 10.8 oo
Male. - 147,829 | 100.0 61.6 38.4 15.1 11.4 6.4 4.8 6
Connecticu 19,931 100.0 63.9 36.1 16.4 1.5 5.0 b 3 2 (R
District of Colu 3,697 100.0 91.7 8.3 4.4 2.4 ) B 2 (AR (S
Massachusetts 54,305 100.0 67.1 32.9 13.9 9.9 5.1 2.1 1.7
Michigan 67, 531 100.0 55.0 45.0 16.2 13.1 7.9 7.8 (et
Nevada. 2,365 | 100.0 57.5 42.5 18.2 10.2 ) 55 B O B

Female._ 69, 920 100.0 94.9 5.1 2.8 1.6 .5 .2 [0
Connecticut. 14,529 | 100.0 94.3 5.7 3.2 1.8 .6 2
Distriet of Columbia 1,498 | 100.0 85.5 14.5 8.3 4.9 b 2 I, S,

Massachusetts. 30,237 | 100.0 98.2 1.8 1.2 .4 .1 [ (1)
Michigan 22,860 | 100.0 01. 4 8.8 4.3 2.7 1.0 I 28 R,
Nevada._.. 787 | 100.0 93.5 6.5 4.1 17 PR 2 RO PR

1 Less than 0.05 percent.

Table 2.—Number of new beneficiaries entitled to dependents’ allowances and
percent entitled to allowances for specified type of dependent, by sex of
beneficiary, District of Columbia and Nevada,' January-March 1949

[Corrected to Aug. 2, 1949]

Pereent entitled to dependents’ allowances for—
Num- | popendent children under age Dependents
ber of v limit T3¢ | Dependent other than
State and sex cntitled * spousc 1 or more SPOUSe
benefi- fm((i1 no dependent par(\nt; 'yor
ciaries : = children | parents or P
With ‘Without , children
Total | dependent | dependent unlr}gi?ge stepparents under age
spouse spouse limit
Total. ... 1, 580 67.1 29.0 38.1 25.3 4.6 59
District of Columbia, 524 78.4 1.7 76.7 5.2 12.2 4.2
Nevada____ 1,066 61,5 42.5 18.9 35,2 .8 2.6
Male__.___.__ 1,312 64.3 34.8 29.5 30.0 3.0 2.7
District of Colurn 307 78.8 2.9 75.9 7.2 10.4 3.6
Nevada_______.__ 1,005 59. 8 44.5 15.3 36.9 .8 2.5
Female. .. _.____ 268 80.9 .7 80.2 2.2 11.9 4.9
District of Columbia_ 217 77.9 0 77.9 2.3 14.7 5.1
Nevada_ .o ....____ 51 94.1 3.9 90.2 2.0 0 3.9

1 The only States allowing henefits for dependents other than children during this period.



setts amended its law (1) to make
those in partial unemployment eligi-
ble to receive allowances (effective
October 5, 1949), and (2) to ensure
tha} receipt of dependents’ allowances
does not reduce the potential number
of weeks of benefits during a worker’s
benefit year (effective October 16,
1949).

Michigan increased the maximum
basic benefit from $20 to $24, so that
an eligible claimant with four or more
children would have his maximum
augmented benefit raised to $32 for
unemployment beginning on or after
July 3, 1949. The new legislation also
increased the amount of the maxi-
mum potential benefits, including de-
pendents’ allowances, from $560 to
$640 in a benefit year.

Effective July 1, 1949, Nevada in-
creased (1) the maximum weekly
benefit from $20 to $25; (2) the al-

lowance per dependent from $2 to $3:
and (3) the number of compensable
dependents from three or more to four
or more, thus raising the total po-
tential allowance from $8 to $12. The
augmented benefit is, however, lim-
ited to 6 percent of high-quarter
wages.

Alaska.—For all eligible Alaska
claimants whose benefit years begin
on July 1, 1949, or later, additional
payments of 20 percent of the weekly
benefit are to be made for each de-
pendent, or up to 60 percent of the
weekly benefit amount for the total
number of dependents who are wholly
or mainly supported by the claimant.
The weekly benefit amount is com-
puted as 14y of high-quarter wages
with a maximum of $25 per week and
a minimum of $8. Under the Alaska
amendment, a dependent is defined as

Table 3.—Selected data on weeks compensated and amount of payments to
all claimants and to claimants receiving dependents’ allowances, five States,

January-March 1949

[Corrected to Aug. 2, 1949]

Ttem Tive States,

total

Connecti- | District of | Massachu-

cut Columbia|  setts Michigan |\Nevada

‘Ratio (percent) of weeks compensat-
ed, beneficiaries receiving depend-
ents’ allowance, to weeks com-
pensated, all beneficiaries ... _.__ 24.1

TRatio (percent) of weeks of total un-
employment compensated, hene-
ficiaries receiving dependents’ al-
lowances, to weeks of total unem-
ployment compensated, all bene-

fletaries. .. oo 25.0

Percentage distribution of weeks of
total unemployment compensated,
beneficiaries receiving dependents’
allowances, by amount of basic
weekly benefit:

At maximum basiec weekly benefit__

All beneficiaries:
Average basic weekly payment,
total unemployment_.______._____
Average weekly payment, including
dependents’ allowances, total un-
employment....______._._____.. ...
Percentage increase . .....__....._._

Beneficiaries receiving dependents’
allowances:
Average basic weekly payment,
total unemployment.-. _____.______
Average augmented weekly pay-
ment, total unemployment..___.__
Percentage increase ... ___._...______

$21.74

$26. 04
19.8

Amount of benefits paid, all bene~
ficiaries:?

19.3 13.5 20.2 32.1 34.8

21.8

—
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$20. 02 $17.26 $22.47 $10.62 | $19.44

$21. 05 $17.51 $23.36
5.1 1.2 4.0

$21.01 | $20.70
7.1 6.5

$21.94
$27.26
4.2

$14. 44
$16.14
11.8

$24.32
$28.41
16.8

$19.86 | $19.72

$24.16 | $23.34
2.7 18.4

Total amount._._____...___._______ $46, 418, 159 187, 590, 608 81, 003, 997 |$21, 766, 414 |$15, 455,002 |$602, 138

Dependents’ allowances_ . ____.___._
Ratio (percent) of dependents’
allowances to total amount.. ____. 4.8

$2, 250, 031

$377,308 | $15,500

$803, 789 | $1,016,170 | $37,174
5.0 L6 3.7 6.6 6.2

1In the District of Columbia, no dependents’
allowances are payable above the basic weekly maxi-
mum of $20,
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2 Not adjusted for voided benefit checks and trans-
fers under interstate combined-wage plan,

a wife or a son, daughter, stepson, or
stepdaughter under 18 years of age
who is not gainfuily employed and
who is totally or mainly supported by
the unemployed beneficiary. Also in-
cluded as dependents, if disabled and
unable to work, are a husband,
mother, father, stepmother, or step-
father or a brother, sister, son,
daughter, stepson, or stepdaughter
over age 18. If both husband and
wife are receiving benefits only one
of them is entitled to the additional
payment. All provisions for depend-
ents’ allowances apply only to depend-
ents who reside in Alaska.

Arizong.—Effective June 30, 1949,
the amendment to the Arizona unem-
ployment insurance law provides for
dependents’ allowances of $2 a week
for the first dependent and $2 for

each additional dependent up to

three.

that no additional payment shall be
made to a claimant for a dependent
who is in receipt of unemployment
insurance. A dependent in the Ari-
zona law is defined as a claimant’s
unmarried child under 18 years of age
and living with him or receiving reg-
ular support from him; a wife or hus-
band who is living with the claimant
or receiving regular support from the
claimant and is not gainfully em-
ployed; or a parent, stepparent, or
parent-in-law of the claimant who is
wholly or mainly supported by him.

The amandmant alcn nravidag
408 adICNGINTHL QiS5 pIOVIUCs

Maryland.—The Maryland amend-
ment, effective June 1, 1949, relates
only to dependent children who are
not over 16 years of age. For each
dependent child, up to four, a bene:=
ficiary may receive a weekly allow-
ance of $2, or a maximum total al-
lowance of $8 for four or more chil-
dren. Such payment may be made to
only one parent if more than one
parent is receiving benefits.

North Dakota.—An individual’s
weekly benefit amount is indicated by
a schedule in the law, and may be
from $5 to $20 according to the
amount of high-quarter wages.
Effective on July 1, 1949, to such basic
benefit a dependent’s allowance may
be added. The amount of the depend-
ents’ allowances varies according to

Social Security



Table 4.—Summary of provisions for dependents’ allowances under State un-
employment insurance programs, 1949

: Maxi-
BH{;;’ Maxi- | mum
weekly . mum | potential
State Types of dependents Statutory amount of | allow- v&gi‘f gil"‘gal b%?ﬁgts
& covered weekly allowances ance | p eneﬁ}t’ mented| depend-
d for a weekly | ents’
epend- benefit| allow-
ents ances
Alaska__.____.__.. Dependent wife, or ¢child | 20 percent of weekly 15 $25 $40 $626
under age 18; husband, benefit amount for
parent or stepparent, each dependent, up
brother or sister, or child to 60 percent.
over age 18 if unable to
work.
Arizona__._______. Dependent unmarried | $2 for each dependent 6 20 26 312
child under age 18; non- up to 3.
workingspouse or parents.
Connecticut. ... Dependent, child 16 years | $3 for each dependent 12 24 36 936
of age and under. up to 1% weekly ben-
efit amount.
District of Colum- | Dependent child under | $1 for each dependent 3 20 120 400
bia. age 16; if disabled— up to3.
spouse, other relatives,
or older children, :
Maryland.___.... Dependent child not over | $2 for each child up to 8 25 33 858
age 16. $8 for 4 or more.
Massachusetts..._| Dependent child under | $2 for each child__.__.. @) 25 ) @
age 18.
Michigan_.______. Dependent child under | $2 for each child up to 8 24 32 640
age 18, or under age 21 4 or more.
if disabled.
Nevada..-oc.oo.. Dependent wife, child | $3 for each dependent 12 25 37 962
under age 16 and not em- up to 4 or more,
ployed; husband, par-
ent, brother or sister—if
unable to work.
North Dakota....| Dependent unmarried | $2 for each child up to 6 20 26 520
child under age 18 and 3 or more.
not receiving more than
$5 in wages,
Ohio._______..___. Dependent child or step- | $2.50 for each depend- 5 25 30 780
child under age 18. ent up to 2.
Wyoming..__.__.. Dependent child, adopted | $3 for each dependent 6 25 31 820
child, or stepchild aged up to $6.
18 or under.

1 The Distriet of Columbia law provides the same maximum with or without dependents.

? Depends on the high-quarter earnings of the claimant.

ances, may not exceed wages.

The maximum, including dependents’ allow-

the schedule from $2 for one child
up to $6 for three or more children.
As $20 is the maximum weekly bene-
fit amount, the total augmented bene-
fit payable in North Dakota is $26
under the amended act. A depend-
ent is defined as an unmarried child,
including a stepchild or an adopted
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child whether or not legally adopted,
who is under age 18 and is living
with the individual claiming benefits
or receiving regular support from him
and receiving no remuneration in ex-
cess of $5 in the claim week. If both
the husband and wife receive benefits
with respect to a week of unemploy-

ment, only one of them is entitled to
receive dependents’ allowances.

Ohio.—The unemployment insur-
ance act of Ohio provides (effective
August 22, 1949) the sum of $2.50 for
each of an eligible claimant’s de-
pendent children under 18, but not
more than $5 for any 1 week. The
amendment defines a dependent child
as any child or stepchild of the in-
dividual claiming the benefit, who
at the beginning of the claimant’s
current benefit year was under 18
years of age and was being wholly or
chiefly supported by such individual.
If both husband and wife qualify for
benefits for the same week, only one
of them is entitled to the additional
payment. As the maximum benefit
payment in Ohio has been raised to
$25 a week, the total over-all maxi-
mum payment has thus become $30 a
week.

Wyoming—Effective for claims
filed with respect to any benefit year
beginning on or after January 1, 1950,
the Wyoming act is amended to pro-
vide dependents’ allowances in addi-
tion to the basic benefits. The amount
that may be paid is $3 per week for
each dependent child, adopted child,
or stepchild, 18 years of age or under,
or $6 for two or more dependent chil-
dren. If both husband and wife are
receiving unemployment insurance
benefits, only the parent having the
custody of the children is entitled to
the additional allowances paid on
their behalf. The maximum basic
benefit amount was raised to $25 a
week; the total potential benefit in-
cluding dependents’ allowances there=
fore amounts to $31 a week.
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