July 29, 2013

Update of Progress on Final Plan for Retrospective Review

In our final plan of August 22, 2011, we stated: “Over the next two years, we anticipate reviewing the following medical listings, for which we may issue notices of proposed rulemaking (NPRM) or final rules as appropriate.”  The chart below includes the listings we expected to review, and the progress we have made to date.

August 22, 2011 Final Plan  

2011

 

Respiratory NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Growth NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Hematological NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Neurological NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Genitourinary Impairments NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Impairments that Affect Multiple Body Systems NPRM

NPRM published 10/25/2011 at 76 FR 66006.

Immune Systems Disorders NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Skin Disorders NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Special Senses - Vision NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Digestive System NPRM

NPRM drafted

Malignant Neoplastic Diseases NPRM

NPRM drafted, undergoing internal clearance

Musculoskeletal System NPRM

NPRM drafted

2014

January 13, 2014 Update

Mental Disorders final rule

Final rule being drafted

Cardiovascular System NPRM

Reviewed current listings

Speech and Language Disorders NPRM

ANPRM* published 2/6/2012 at 77 FR 5734.

Removal of Regulations on Black Lung Benefits - final rule Final rule published 3/30/2012 at 77 FR 19079
Impairments that Affect Multiple Body Systems – final rule Final rule published 2/4/13 at 78 FR 7659
Special Senses – Vision final rule

NPRM published 2/13/2012 at 77 FR 7549

Final rule published 3/28/13 at 78 FR 18837

Respiratory NPRM NPRM published 2/4/13 at 78 FR 7968
Genitourinary Impairments NPRM

NPRM published 2/4/13 at 78 FR 7695

Final rule drafted, undergoing internal clearance
Growth NPRM NPRM published 5/22/2013 at 78 FR 30249
Hearing Loss and Disturbances of Labyrinthine-Vestibular Function ANPRM ANPRM* published 8/30/13 at 78 FR 53700
Evaluating Human Immunodeficiency Virus Infection and Evaluating Functional Limitations in Immune System Disorders NPRM NPRM submitted to OMB for review 10/22/13
Revised Medical Criteria for Evaluating Neurological Impairments NPRM NPRM submitted to OMB for review 10/31/13
Hematological NPRM NPRM published 11/19/13 at 78 FR 69324
Revised Medical Criteria for Evaluating Cancer (Malignant Neoplastic Diseases) NPRM NPRM published 12/17/13 at 78 FR 76508

 

*Advance notice of proposed rulemaking

Paperwork and Reporting Burden Reduction Initiatives

Agency Sub-Agency Title Description of the Initiative Hours of Paperwork/ Reporting Eliminated Cost Savings/ Increases Estimated Effective Date of the Change Who Benefits? New Initiative? Regulatory or Statutory Change Needed?

SSA

ODP/OPC

SSA-3441 and i3441 Revitalization 0960-0144 We intend to enhance the SSA-3441-BK and i3441 filing process; revise the current dynamic pathing in the i3441 Internet application; and revise questions for clarity.

83,824

N/A 9/2014 SSA disability applicants and beneficiaries Yes No, a regulatory change is not needed
SSA OISP/OAESSP iClaim Enhancements 0960-0618 We will continue enhance iClaim.  Our futures plans include:  1) streamlining the Internet Disability Application for all disability applicants; 2) working on fraud reduction activities; 3) updating the International Direct Deposit; and 4) implementing a global transfer table to transfer iClaim from the workload support unit to local field offices.   At this time, we do not have a specific implementation date for the new enhancements; however, we will continue to work toward our goal of making future enhancements as resources allow. 23 N/A 2014-2015 SSA beneficiaries Yes No, a regulatory change is not needed
SSA ODP/OHITEP eAuthorization 0960-0623 We continue to consider expanding eAuthorization to online transactions involving third parties and childhood claims.  To that end, we intend to use SSA’s Public Credentialing and Authentication Process (OMB No. 0960-0789) for eAuthorization, which will allow for the authentication and verification of third parties.  This move would allow us to verify the identity of the parents and guardians of claimants when they electronically sign the application.  At this time, we do not have an implementation date for the new functionality; however, we will consider expanding access to this Internet application for most claimants. 39,265 N/A Ongoing – We will expand this program over the next several years, which is why we do not have an effective date for the change. SSA disability applicants and beneficiaries Yes No, a regulatory change is not needed
Totals       123,112